Gaming News – Golden Joystick Winners Announced

God of War and Fortnite were among the night’s biggest winners.


The winners of the 2018 Golden Joystick Awards have been announced. Celebrating the best games of the past 12 months, the awards cover a wide variety of fields, including Audio, Storytelling, Co-op, eSports and VR.


Taking the most prizes was God of War, winning four awards with studio SIE Santa Monica picking up an additional award for Studio of the Year. Also among the top prize winners was the smash-hit Fortnite, which was named Ultimate Game of the Year.


There was also recognition for Xbox and their newly released Adaptive controller, as well as a look back at the illustrious career of FromSoftware’s Hidetaka Miyazaki who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.


See the full list of winners below.


  • Best StorytellingGod of War
  • Best Competitive GameFortnite
  • Best Cooperative GameMonster Hunter: World
  • Best Visual DesignGod of War
  • Best Indie GameDead Cells
  • Best AudioGod of War
  • Still Playing AwardWorld of Tanks
  • Best Performer– Bryan Dechart (as Connor from Detroit: Become Human)
  • Esports Game of the YearOverwatch
  • Best VR GameThe Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim VR
  • Studio of the Year– SIE Santa Monica Studio
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster– Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire
  • Mobile Game of the Year– PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile
  • PC Game of the YearSubnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the YearGod of War
  • Xbox Game of the YearForza Horizon 4
  • Nintendo Game of the YearOctopath Traveler
  • Breakthrough AwardUnknown Worlds
  • Most Wanted GameCyberpunk 2077
  • Critics Choice AwardRed Dead Redemption 2
  • Lifetime Achievement– Hidetaka Miyazaki (FromSoftware)
  • Outstanding Contribution– Xbox Adaptive Controller
  • Ultimate Game of the YearFortnite


The Golden Joystick Awards 2018 can be viewed in full on their Twitch channel.


Words by Megan Roxburgh


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.