Live at No. 40 Festival To Be Staged At Pop up Outdoor Glasgow Theatre

scottish opera

This summer, Glasgow will host a month-long outdoor festival called “Live at No. 40”, which will include shows to entertain audiences of up to 150 people.

Scottish Opera, the Citizens Theatre and the Scottish Ensemble will transform a car park outside Scottish Opera’s production studios into an outdoor theatre where they will stage the “Live at No. 40” festival. 

From 3 July until 1 August, a variety of performances will be showcased, including Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons and a modern twist on Shakespeare’s Comedy of Errors—one of the first times Glasgow theatre lovers will be able to witness a live show this summer.

The festival will also feature lunchtime concerts staged by Scottish Opera, and a performance of Kurt Weill’s comedy The Tsar Has His Photograph Taken from their young company.

General director of the Scottish Opera Alex Reedijk hopes the outdoor theatre will mark “the beginning of the return to live performance.”

“Live at No. 40 is a celebration of the performing arts industry and its resilience over what’s been a trying and difficult year,” he adds. “We’re delighted to have the opportunity to come together with the Scottish Ensemble and the Citizens Theatre to share our car park and mark what we hope will be the beginning of the return to live performance.”

The festival—named after its location at 40 Edington Street—will follow government guidelines on social distancing, and tickets will be released on the 8th June.

Words by Lucy Dunn

Support The Indiependent
We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.

Image Credit: “Scottish Opera, Elmbank Street, Glasgow” by jtweedie1976 is licensed under CC BY 2.0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here