Golden Joystick 2020 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2020 Golden Joystick Awards have been announced.

Like many other gaming events in 2020, this year’s awards ceremony was broadcast on social media, Twitch and YouTube.

The pre-show, hosted by voice actor Travis Willingham, featured a look back at 2020 in gaming. With contributions from various figures within the gaming industry along with clips from some of the year’s biggest games.

The show opened with a performance from Lara6683, which featured music from some of the nominated games. Host Laura Bailey was on hand via video link to preside over the events as the winners were announced.

As for the awards themselves, The Last of Us: Part II was the big winner of the night with five awards, including Best Storytelling, PlayStation Game of the Year, and the top prize of Ultimate Game of The Year. There were also wins for Hades, Fall Guys and Animal Crossing: New Horizons.

Also honoured were Team 17, who received the Hall of Fame award and Sandra Saad, who was named Best Performer for her work as Kamala Khan/Ms Marvel in Marvel’s Avengers.

Check out the full list of winners below.

  • Best Storytelling: The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Visual Design: The Last of Us: Part II
  • Best Audio: The Last of Us: Part II
  • Best Indie Game: Hades
  • Best Multiplayer Game: Fall Guys
  • Best Game Expansion: No Man’s Sky: Origins
  • Best Family Game: Fall Guys
  • Still Playing Award: Minecraft
  • Esports Game of the Year: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
  • Best Gaming Hardware: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080
  • Best Gaming Community: Minecraft
  • Studio of the Year: Naughty Dog
  • Mobile Game of the Year: Lego Builder’s Journey
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: The Last of Us: Part II
  • PC Game of the Year: Death Stranding
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Ori and the Will of The Wisps
  • Most Wanted Game: The upcoming God of War sequel
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: iamBrandon
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: The Last of Us: Part II
  • Breakthrough Award: Among Us
  • Best Performer: Sandra Saad – Ms Marvel (Marvel’s Avengers)
  • Outstanding Contribution: All the various charitable and social change initiatives throughout the gaming world in 2020
  • Critics’ Choice Award: Hades
  • Hall of Fame: Team 17

The full awards ceremony, including the pre-show, is available to view on the Game Awards GamesRadar website.

Words by Megan Roxburgh

Support The Indiependent

We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *