LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Release Date Announced

©WB Games/Traveller's Tales/Lucasfilm

Warner Bros. Games has announced a release date for LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

The game will release on 5 April 2022 for Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5 and Nintendo Switch. Pre-orders are available for all of these platforms.

Although LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga was announced at E3 2019, the game’s release had been delayed twice and a Spring 2022 launch was confirmed last year. 

A six-minute gameplay overview trailer accompanied the release announcement, showing glimpses of developers Traveller’s Tales’ take on all nine films in The Skywalker Saga

The trailer revealed the game will feature over 300 playable characters, meaning it will have a bigger unlockable roster than any other title in the series. 

Players will be able to start from the first chapter of any of the three trilogies on offer, with the remaining chapters unlocked through progression.

New combat mechanics were also shown, including lightsaber combo chains and advanced blaster controls.

A Galaxy Map will allow players to travel to different planets and will expand as they progress through the story.

All the while, they will be able to engage in exhilarating dogfights as they pilot legendary vehicles. 

Exploration of The Skywalker Saga’s planets is encouraged and will let players take on side missions. 

Many of the game’s levels will include multiple routes, meaning players can choose between a bold or stealthy approach. 

A new upgrade system will allow players to collect Kyber Bricks which can be spread across unique character classes such as Jedi, Dark Side and Astromech Droid to make them more powerful.  

However, the game will feature the same comical charm synonymous with LEGO games.

A mumble extra, revealed at the end of the trailer, will enable players to replace cutscene dialogue with mumbling, paying homage to older LEGO Star Wars titles. 

The series first debuted with LEGO Star Wars: The Video Game in 2005, which covered Episodes I-III and included a bonus level from A New Hope. This was followed by games set during the original trilogy and The Clone Wars era, with 2016’s Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens being the most recent release. The franchise’s success has seen it branch out into television and film, with the Lego Star Wars: Terrifying Tales special released on Disney+ in October 2021.

Words by Julius Lawless-Master

Support The Indiependent

We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here