New Immersive ‘Sound Stage’ Launched by Scottish Theatres

Sound Stage

Pitlochry Festival Theatre and the Royal Lyceum Theatre Edinburgh have announced a new audio venue featuring new works from eight acclaimed playwrights, titled Sound Stage.

Designed by leading theatre-makers and technologists, Sound Stage sets to replicate the stage experience as fully as possible through immersive audio – from taking your seat in the audience to meeting others theatre-goers. The eight plays included in the venue will require tickets to be booked in advance like a regular theatre show, to be experienced live by an audience at one specific time.

Elizabeth Newman, Artistic Director of the Pitlochry Festival Theatre, says that the aim of the project is “to keep growing the canon and offering artists the opportunity to make exciting new art and we hope that Sound Stage will do this by showcasing the incredible talent the UK has to offer.”

All the plays are new works especially designed for audio and for the venue, realised with a full cast. Writers include well-known faces such as Timberlake Wertenbaker (Our Country’s Good), Mark Ravenhill (Shopping and F****ing) and Roy Williams (Death of England). Ravenhill’s autobiographical drama Angela, which looks at the impact of modern culture on his family life, will be the first released in the series. The theatres involved are also hoping to produce the plays on-stage once they are allowed to reopen under COVID-19 regulations.

Tickets go on sale from Sunday 14th of February, and the virtual venue will open on the 26th of March.

Words by Issy Flower.

Support The Indiependent

We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.

Image: Naked Productions


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here