The Game Awards 2021 Nominees Announced

©The Game Awards

The nominees for The Game Awards 2021 have been announced during a special presentation. Hosted by Geoff Keighley, the awards celebrate gaming achievements over the past 12 months with more than 30 categories covering everything from Performance to Art Direction along with awards for Esports and Innovation in Accessibility.

Leading this year’s field of nominees is Deathloop, which scored eight nominations including Best Action Game, Best Audio Design, Best Narrative and Game of the Year. Joining Deathloop in the Game of the Year category is It Takes Two, Metroid Dread, Psychonauts 2, Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart and Resident Evil Village.

In the Best Performance category, Deathloop also dominates with both Jason Kelley (Colt Vahn) and Ozioma Akagha (Julianna Blake) nominated for their performances. They will go up against Erika Mori (Alex Chen, Life is Strange: True Colors), Giancarlo Esposito (Anton Castillo, Far Cry 6), and Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu, Resident Evil Village).

The Game Awards will be hosted by Geoff Keighley on Thursday, December 9 from the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles, with the event broadcast live across multiple platforms. Voting is now open on The Game Awards website until December 8.

Watch the nomination announcement in full below.

Words by Megan Roxburgh

Support The Indiependent

We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here