The Game Awards Winners Announced, It Takes Two & Deathloop Among Winners

©The Game Awards

The winners for The Game Awards 2021 have been announced. Now in its eighth year, the awards celebrate achievement in video games over the past 12 months with this year’s ceremony featuring 30 different categories, covering everything from art direction to music, voice acting and eSports, all voted for by the public.

During the event, host Geoff Keighley expressed his support to those who have been victims of harassment and abuse in the gaming industry, saying that change needs to happen and that those who need help should be empowered by the support of the audience and the wider gaming industry.

Leading this year’s nominations was Deathloop, which had nine nominations and won two awards, for Best Game Direction and Best Game Direction. Among the other winners on the night were It Takes Two, which won Best Family Game and Game of The Year, Final Fantasy XIV Online, which won Best Community Support and Forza Horizon 5, which won the Innovation in Accessibility Award and Best Sports/Racing Game. Prior to the awards, Halo Infinite won the Player’s Voice Award.

There were also several exclusive reveals and trailers shown during the ceremony. Fans got their first look at Sonic The Hedgehog 2 and the Halo live-action series. There was also the reveal for The Matrix Awakens, a tie-in experience for The Matrix Resurrections which is available now for PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S

On the gaming side, there were reveals for Wonder Woman, Alan Wake 2, ARC Raiders and Warhammer: Space Marine 2 as well as details on upcoming content for Cuphead, Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout, Genshin Impact and Destiny 2. There were also new looks at gameplay for Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League, Hellblade 2: Senua’s Saga and Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands.

See the full list of winners below:

Game of the Year

It Takes Two

Best Game Direction


Best Narrative

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Art Direction


Best Score and Music

Nier Replicant ver 1.22474487139

Best Audio Design

Forza Horizon 5

Best Performance

Maggie Robertson as Lady Dimitrescu – Resident Evil Village

Games for Impact

Life is Strange: True Colors

Best Ongoing Game

Final Fantasy XIV Online

Best Independent Game

Kena: Bridge of Spirits

Best Mobile Game

Genshin Impact

Best Community Support

Final Fantasy XIV Online

Best VR/AR Game

Resident Evil 4

Innovation in Accessibility

Forza Horizon 5

Best Action Game


Best Action/Adventure Game

Metroid Dread

Best Role-Playing Game

Tales of Arise

Best Fighting Game

Guilty Gear Strive

Best Family Game

It Takes Two

Best Sports/Racing Game

Forza Horizon 5

Best Sim/Strategy Game

Age of Empires IV

Best Multiplayer Game

It Takes Two

Best Debut Game

Kena: Bridge of Spirits

Most Anticipated Game

Elden Ring

Player’s Voice

Halo Infinite

Best Esports Game

League of Legends

Best Esports Player

Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev

Best Esports Team

Natus Vincere – Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Best Esports Coach

Kim “kkOma” Jeong-gyun

Best Esports Event

2021 League of Legends World Championship

Content Creator of the Year


Watch the ceremony in full below.

Words by Megan Roxburgh

Support The Indiependent

We’re trying to raise £200 a month to help cover our operational costs. This includes our ‘Writer of the Month’ awards, where we recognise the amazing work produced by our contributor team. If you’ve enjoyed reading our site, we’d really appreciate it if you could donate to The Indiependent. Whether you can give £1 or £10, you’d be making a huge difference to our small team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here