Tags : new releases

Album Review: Ungodly Hour // Chloe x Halle

Sister act Chloe x Halle’s latest album Ungodly Hour marks a departure from their girl-next-door image by providing an insight into more mature issues such as sex and betrayal. The duo first made their name as actresses, appearing in several films and Disney’s Austin and Ally before being taken under the wing of Beyoncé and […]Read More

Meet Halls The Musical: A Show Exploring The First Year

During the dark times that the creative industries are currently facing, there has been some light. Halls, a new British musical by George Stroud and Jennifer Harrison, has released its first song: ‘Flat 15B’. In a video published online, the song is performed by West End stars, including Grace Mouat, Oliva Moore, and Sophie Isaacs. […]Read More

Album Review: The Prettiest Curse // Hinds

Hinds have always been a couple of years ahead of their time. It is nine years since the original ‘Deers’ duo formed in Madrid and six since ‘Bamboo’ made its ripple. The eventual foursome that would become ‘Hinds’ had found two years in between to perfect their brand of garage rock, latching onto trends laid […]Read More

Album Review: New Me, Same Us // Little Dragon

Sweden’s Little Dragon rose to prominence on early releases Ritual Union and Machine Dreams, which introduced listeners to singer Yukimi Nagano’s soft, soulful  vocals and established the group’s versatile brand of electropop. Those unfamiliar with Little Dragon’s previous releases may nonetheless have already encountered their sound, as the band have provided features on SBTRKT’s ‘Wildfire’, […]Read More

Album Review: The New Abnormal // The Strokes

The philosopher Antonio Gramsci once characterised crisis as the interregnum between the death of old and the birth of new. In 2001, I sat on the edge of a bed in a small Greek hotel room and watched the screen on the wall tell me about a country called Afghanistan. I had no sense that […]Read More

Album Review: Wake Up, Sunshine // All Time Low

All Time Low have made a comeback after two years with their eighth studio album, Wake Up, Sunshine. Released on 3 April 2020, it encompasses two decades of experience and artistry into an album that will be universally loved.  This release was no doubt supposed to be the soundtrack to many summer getaways, but instead […]Read More

Album Review: Floatr // Happyness

A lot has happened since Happyness released their 2017 sophomore album, Write In. The band has parted ways with founding member, Benji Compston, and drummer Ash Kenazi has adopted a drag queen alter ego after coming out as gay. Their new record, Floatr, released on 1 May via Infinit Suds, is a genre-fluid exploration of […]Read More

Album Review: Cenizas // Nicolas Jaar

You’ve heard it before: musician banishes themselves to a remote corner of the world with nothing but a guitar, a synth and their ego. They emerge a year later with an album, having ‘found themselves’ and probably grown a beard. Despite the cliché, these tales of self-exile are often behind the most interesting albums, particularly […]Read More

Album Review: SAWAYAMA // Rina Sawayama

SAWAYAMA is outstandingly raw, empowering and full of early 2000s Britney Spears vibes on a rollercoaster ride of bold synthetic beats and catchy lyrics. Japanese-born British Rina Sawayama has created a supreme, gritty concoction of an electropop and Nu-Metal in this latest release. The album hits sensitive and personal notes that delve into her childhood, […]Read More

Album Review: Which Way Out // The Reverse

Which Way Out, set for release on 24 April via Blang Records by North London guitar band The Reverse, is an acerbic portrait of 2020 Britain. The album opens with ‘Crush My Chest With Your Hate’, a biting social commentary on the side of the left behind. Lyrics such as “Losing your benefits / all […]Read More

Album Review: Sad Happy // Circa Waves

Sad Happy is the fourth studio album by indie-rock band, Circa Waves, released 13 March 2020. The Liverpool based four-piece released the album in two halves; Happy was released at the beginning of the year, with Sad added to the mix this month. In an NME interview at the end of last year, frontman Kieran […]Read More